Note: This forum is merely an archive. It is no longer possible to register or post. - StackOverflow
New Ace of Spades Forums: http://buildandshoot.com/

How do I join servers via command prompt?

For all bug reports and game-related issues

How do I join servers via command prompt?

Postby kabasky7 » Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:45 am

I need to know how to do this. First off, here is a QUICK story as to why I need to do this:

I have a computer at my apartment with no internet, it has games and all that installed on it but no internet. So right now all my internet activity happens on a public computer where I login as a guest account.

When using a guest account, you cannot install anything. I figured I would just copy the "Ace of Spades" folder to my flash drive and having the executable file would be good enough but it turns out that when I click on it (client.exe) it says I need to go to ace-spades.com and click on a server and never actually started the game.


I guess when you install ace of spades, it edits the registry so that clicking on links on the "Server page" will open up the client and connect it to that server.


Is there anyway to make this work out from the command prompt by manually typing in the IP to the server?
kabasky7
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:24 am

Re: How do I join servers via command prompt?

Postby nimdahk » Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:18 am

Yes it is possible. Just do
Code: Select all
"client.exe" "aos://xxxxxxxxx:xxxx"
on the command-line. You can also make a .bat file to do it for you, or you can use a standalone server selector. I use this one: http://www.autohotkey.net/~Uberi/Script ... lector.ahk

It takes a quick change:
Code: Select all
;Path := """%A_ScriptDir%\client.exe"" ""%Server%""" ;use this for portable installations
Path := "%Server%" ;use this for normal installations

to
Code: Select all
Path := """%A_ScriptDir%\client.exe"" ""%Server%""" ;use this for portable installations
;Path := "%Server%" ;use this for normal installations

Then you can run it by dropping the file onto AutoHotkey.exe, which you can download here:
http://l.autohotkey.net/v/AutoHotkey110800_Install.exe
and put on a flash drive.


...there's probably an easier server selector, but I can help you with this one if need be.
Aloha guardian
nimdahk
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:17 pm

Re: How do I join servers via command prompt?

Postby Enari » Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:59 pm

Moved to Game Help
Image
User avatar
Enari
Moderator
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:15 pm

Re: How do I join servers via command prompt?

Postby PXYC » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:52 pm

Navigate to Ace of Spades directory, then:
client.exe -aos://numbersgohere
Image

<+laserlamp> lil b is my fav
User avatar
PXYC
Local Mod
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Near Philadelphia, PA


Return to Game help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron