Note: This forum is merely an archive. It is no longer possible to register or post. - StackOverflow
New Ace of Spades Forums: http://buildandshoot.com/

[Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

All third party apps for AoS.

[Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby GreaseMonkey » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:36 pm

Quick notes for people who are too lazy to read the thread:

  • THIS WILL NOT WORK AND USUALLY NOT BE NECESSARY ON WINDOWS VISTA OR 7.
  • If you believe me that it does exactly what I say it does, then you can believe me when I say it's not a trojan (a trojan is a program that says it does a good thing but does a bad thing instead). Your AV might think it's one simply because it scans the process list and writes to other processes' memory, but it's clean, and if you don't believe me then you can compile it from source.

Hoping for a more permanent and more appropriate solution for this (all your non-voxlap text will be the same colour once you run this, but at least there won't be any more "Press TAB to fall through floor" crap).

What this tool does is dummies out the StretchDIBits call. Try not to call it too early as there's a very real chance that this might crash if you do, but I don't think your hands are that fast.

I highly recommend you run this while the map is loading for the first time, that way all the text will be white instead of possibly green and red.

Download it for 0.70
C source code

So yeah, INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Run AoS
  • Wait for the "Loading" screen to come up
  • Run cp070.exe
  • Enjoy your delicious framerate and your more delicious white text
  • Complain when you try it without, forgetting how slow it was before (optional)

If you're willing to compile this, my commandline looks like this:

i386-mingw32-gcc cp070.c -o cp070.exe -lpsapi

Note that if you're running Windows and you have MinGW, your gcc for it is probably just called "gcc". Apologies for the general dummied-out-just-about-everything state of the code.

In case you're wondering, the 3-byte gdishim actually used is a "RET 0x34" opcode.

--GM
Last edited by GreaseMonkey on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GreaseMonkey
Bastion Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: ←        

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby USABxBOOYO » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:39 pm

Just saying, I read the entire post and I have no idea what you're saying this thing does.
User avatar
USABxBOOYO
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2197
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby GreaseMonkey » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:45 pm

It basically makes the game run faster on some systems.
GreaseMonkey
Bastion Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: ←        

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby USABxBOOYO » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:52 pm

Ah, okay.
User avatar
USABxBOOYO
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2197
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby TheGeekZeke101 » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:11 pm

I approve. Just used it and have been running like a boy on a full liter of Pepsi.

P.S. Do I have to do this everytime, or just once? Also, what did you change? It runs faster, but I see no difference in anything else. Whatever you did, it's great.
Image

Retired Member Missing In Action As Of 7/26/12
User avatar
TheGeekZeke101
Member
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:34 am
Location: Daniella's Basement

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby GreaseMonkey » Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:41 am

TheGeekZeke101 wrote:I approve. Just used it and have been running like a boy on a full liter of Pepsi.


Awesome, something I've made that works for someone who isn't me :D

TheGeekZeke101 wrote:P.S. Do I have to do this everytime, or just once?

You have to do it every time. I've started work on a better replacement (a font renderer that allows for rendering in colours in 100% delicious assembler) but at the moment you'll need to stick with this, and the patch CANNOT be loaded before the game is run and certain things are done due to the nature of said patch.

TheGeekZeke101 wrote: Also, what did you change? It runs faster, but I see no difference in anything else. Whatever you did, it's great.

I disabled StretchDIBits. This function is only ever used in this case to change the font colour (bad whatever your name is, for once it wasn't Ben's fault), which is why all the text of a certain font shows up as the same colour.
GreaseMonkey
Bastion Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: ←        

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby Mortiis » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:59 am

i run it when the map is loading but my text still is in color
User avatar
Mortiis
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby GreaseMonkey » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:16 am

Mortis, what version of Windows are you running (or are you running wine)? This isn't for Vista or Win7.

I couldn't find out where the "module base" was so I've just defaulted it to 0x00400000, but if you can find out how to get the info (and no it doesn't use DLL injection) then that would be fantastic (though probably pointless).
GreaseMonkey
Bastion Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: ←        

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby Mortiis » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:21 pm

yep i'm running windows 7
User avatar
Mortiis
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby greace » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:12 pm

it makes my ping higher lol-.-
seems ok i guess
If you do not look behind yourself, I will secretly steal your cheese.
A man who once did this, ended up being a cheese cake.
(This sig had more awesomeness before it was gone)
User avatar
greace
Member
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:26 am
Location: BEHIND YOU

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby GreaseMonkey » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:45 pm

DaDMaR PM'd me saying that Avira AV detects it as "TR/Spy.Gen virus". This is probably a slightly overeager heuristic.

And yes, KomradeKorakoff pointed out the "high ping" issue too. I'm not sure why it does this - either a thread is getting bogged down, or the ping time is being set later than it should, or there's some weird stuff happening in the protocol that mat^2 should probably explain. mat^2, where are you? We need you.
GreaseMonkey
Bastion Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: ←        

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby Stiivais » Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:51 am

This is working really well so far...
Last edited by Stiivais on Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:28 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Image
Also: shutting up because i have caused some annoyances lately.
User avatar
Stiivais
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby Stiivais » Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:56 am

GreaseMonkey wrote:DaDMaR PM'd me saying that Avira AV detects it as "TR/Spy.Gen virus". This is probably a slightly overeager heuristic.

And yes, KomradeKorakoff pointed out the "high ping" issue too. I'm not sure why it does this - either a thread is getting bogged down, or the ping time is being set later than it should, or there's some weird stuff happening in the protocol that mat^2 should probably explain. mat^2, where are you? We need you.


Doesn't this actually qualify as a trojan?
Please note, that trojans are not always harmful, they just modify other programs...
How is this thing different then?
Image
Also: shutting up because i have caused some annoyances lately.
User avatar
Stiivais
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby Dany0 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:07 pm

Stiivais, you're either completely missing the point of a Trojan, or confusing it for something else.

BTW great work grease.
Image
User avatar
Dany0
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: [Tool] Rusty speed fix for 0.70

Postby greace » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:57 am

wut great work do you mean mods?
lol if so thanks
also i think this is actually a good start on something lol
keep up the work bro:3
If you do not look behind yourself, I will secretly steal your cheese.
A man who once did this, ended up being a cheese cake.
(This sig had more awesomeness before it was gone)
User avatar
greace
Member
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:26 am
Location: BEHIND YOU

Next

Return to Tools/Utilities



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron